The La Liga had a dramatic ending after seeing Real Madrid beat Barcelona to the La Liga trophy despite being two points below the former Champions before the break and Getafe not securing the European football slot after remaining in the top four for most of the campaign.

The season is finally with Real Madrid claiming their 34th league title with Zinedine Zidane making history once again.

The likes of Barcelona, Atletico Madrid and Sevilla qualified for the Champions League while the likes of Villarreal, Real Sociedad and Granada will play Europa League football next season.

The relegated teams are Espanyol, Real Mallorca and Leganes.

for individual awards, Barcelona captain Lionel Messi claimed the Pichichi-the highest goal scorer of the division with 25 goals, the Argentine had four goals ahead of Karim Benzema of Real Madrid who was stuck on 21 goals before the last day’s match against Leganes.

the Zarra Trophy was award to the top Spanish scorer in La Liga and Villarreal striker Gerard Moreno won the award, the attacker scored 18 goals ahead of Athletic Bilbao Raul Garcia’s 15 and Celta Viga Iago Aspas’ 14.

For the Zamora trophy Real Madrid goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois clinch the award, he finished ahead of Atletico Madrid Jan Oblak and Athletic Bilbao Unai Simon, the Belgian conceded 0.59 goals per game, this is the third time he will win the award in his career, he won it during his loan spell at Atletico Madrid before he moved back to Chelsea.

Zinedine Zidane and Julen Lopetegui are the top contenders for the Miguel Munoz award, which is given to the league’s best coach.

The likes of Osasuna’s Jagoba Arrasate, Real Sociedad’s Imanol Alguacil and Granada’s Diego Martinez are also great contenders for the award of the best manager of the division.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments