Ronaldo set another record after winning 10th award

Serie A By: Ikponmwosa Umweni | 03/09/2019

Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo has set another record after winning the Portuguese player of the year award for the 10th time.

The 34-year-old five-time Ballon d'Or winner beating Atletico Madrid new signing Joao Felix, Manchester City star Bernardo Silva, Wolves midfielder Ruben Neves and Sporting Lisbon playmaker Bruno Fernandes.

According to Daily Mail claims that the glamorous awards evening took place at the Carlos Lopes Pavilion in Lisbon where he was crown Portugal best players of the year and he has now won the award in every year bar twice since 2007, with Barcelona Real Madrid legend Luis Figo second in the all-time list with six wins.

The only seasons he did not collect the accolade were when Simao won it in 2010, and in 2014 when Pepe was crowned the victor.

Former Manchester United winger said "This world is so fast, with the social media, the press, it's been wild,'.

"It's been an extremely complicated year on a personal level. Don't let anyone pull you down.

"I can't help but mention that Sporting deserves a little prize. Next time.' 

Ronaldo, having missed on UEFA's Player of the Year award at the expense Virgil van Dijk and he will battle his rival, Lionel Messi and Liverpool defender for the FIFA Men's award with the winner will be announced on September 23 at a ceremony in Milan.  

The full list of the Award Winners


Male Player of the Year: Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

Female Player of the Year: Jessica Silva (Levante / Lyon)

Male Football Coach of the Year: Bruno Lage (Benfica)

Female Coach of the Year: Miguel Santos (Braga)  

Men's Team of the Year: Benfica

Women's Team of the Year: Benfica