Kevin De Bruyne set to battle Robert Lewandowski and Manuel Neuer for the 2020 UEFA men’s Player of the Year Award.

The 29-year-old Belgium international equaled Thierry Henry’s Premier League assists record after scoring and up 33 goals last season but the playmaker was nominated despite Manchester City finishing second to Liverpool domestically and going out of the Champions League in the quarter-finals to Lyon.

De Bruyne has already been named player of the year by both the Premier League and the Professional Footballers Association, while he was beaten to the football writers’ award by Liverpool’s Jordan Henderson.

Lewandowski and Neuer starred as Bayern Munich won the Champions League, beating Paris Saint-Germain 1-0 in the final in Lisbon in August.

Polish striker scored an astonishing 55 goals in 47 games as Bayern won the treble of Champions League, Bundesliga and German Cup. He top-scored in the Champions League with 15 goals.
Neuer missed a solitary game of Bayern’s treble-winning campaign, keeping six clean sheets in the UEFA Champions League.
Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have been left off the final shortlist for the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award for the first time in 10 years.

The winner will be confirmed during the 2020-21 UEFA Champions League draw ceremony in Nyon on Thursday 1 October.


0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments