Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr named a 24-man squad for this month 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers doubleheader clash Sierra Leone.

Top scorer in the Dutch Eredivisie Cyriel Dessers and Cologne right-back Kingsley Ehizibue both get their national team call up, while Kelechi Iheanacho returned and Oghenekaro Etebo making a return after missing the win against Benin Republic and Lesotho in the first group game last year.

Dessers, 26, who has a Belgian father and a Nigerian mother, had already declared his interest to represent the three-time African Champions, while Ehizibue who was born in Germany qualifies to play for through his dad.

The 24-year-old plays as a right-back and has featured 21 times for FC Koln in the Bundesliga this season.

Nigeria host the Leone Stars at the Stephen Keshi Stadium in Asaba on Friday, March 27, before flying to Freetown to confront the Stars at the Siaka Stevens Stadium in the return four days later.


lg.php?bannerid=0&campaignid=0&zoneid=23& names 24man squad for super eagles vs sierra leone tie&referer=http%3A%2F%2Ffcnaija

lg.php?bannerid=0&campaignid=0&zoneid=28& names 24man squad for super eagles vs sierra leone tie&referer=http%3A%2F%2Ffcnaija

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Wigan Athletic, England); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kingsley Ehizibue (FC Koln, Germany).

Midfielders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Etebo Oghenekaro (Getafe FC, Spain); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Cyril Dessers (Heracles Almelo, The Netherlands); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France).

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments